Winterizing Volunteer Fire Fighter’s Vehicles

When my assignment desk editor gave me this story at the Manhasset-Lakeville Fire Department, I was privileged.  The story was on Prestone, the Anti-Freeze company winterizing volunteer fire department members vehicles at the local fire department.  The company also donated $5000 to the M-L FD and $15,000 to the National Fire Council.  I was privileged to accept the story idea because I’m a volunteer EMT myself, and understand how hard it is to get up at 2, 3, or even 4 a.m. sometimes to respond to a stranger in the community for an emergency.  Sometimes, the stranger is a family, friend or relative.  I know how hard it is to especially respond to the firehouse during a rain storm, snow storm, or whatever the situation.  Car’s are forced to start up right away with a cold engine in the wintertime, and this company made it easier for the volunteers this winter.  I learned some tricks, myself and you should too.  Learn what Prestone did to inspect these volunteers personal vehicles for the wintertime.

Join us on LI News Tonight Cablevision Channel 18 at 7 p.m. and Verizon FIOS Channel 1 at 10:45 p.m.  Check out:  youtube.com/linewstonight

-Kyle Reitan

Leave a Reply

